Course Details
Price:
$250 4 seats left
Start Date:

Wed, Jan 08, 6:00pm - Feb 12, 8:30pm (6 sessions)

Next start dates (17)

Location:
Murray Hill, Manhattan
39 E 30th St Suite 2R
Btwn Madison & Park Avenues
New York, New York 10016
(Map)
Share:
Purchase Options
Description
Class Level: Beginner
Age Requirements: 16 and older
Average Class Size: 10

What you'll learn in this basic asl class:

This is a 6 week session focusing on the introduction to American Sign Language and Deaf Culture. You will develop a strong basic ASLary (OUR word for vocabuarly) ASL Structure, syntax, and grammar. Will learn numbers 1-100, visual discrimination, spatial referencing, practice fingerspelling and begin to understand the use of space and gestures.

You will develop grammatical knowledge through our curriculum allowing you to immerse yourself in the world of ASL and Deaf Culture. You will be working with our online curriculum which takes to teaching our visual language to a whole new level and experience for the novice student.

You will have access to E-notes allowing you to practice at home. You will be introduced to interacting with the Deaf community, and begin your journey to enhancing your linguistic skills and cultural knowledge

Additional Fee:
Required $25 E-notes per semester to be purchased directly at SLC. The E-Notes will be emailed directly to the student right after class. It includes the Keynotes Presentation with notes for students, Videos with Dialogues and ASLary (Vocabulary)

Still have questions? Ask the community.

Refund Policy
For a full refund, you must notify CourseHorse 7 days prior to the first class of the actual semester you signed up for.

If you withdraw, for any reason within the first week of the semester we will credit your tuition for up to 6 months.

Map

Google Map

Sign Language Center

All classes at this location

Start Dates (18)
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Jan 13 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jan 20 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Jan 27 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Feb 03 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Feb 10 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Jan 14 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jan 21 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Jan 28 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Feb 04 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Feb 11 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Jan 15 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jan 22 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Jan 29 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Feb 05 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Feb 12 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Jan 16 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jan 23 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Jan 30 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Feb 06 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Feb 13 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
10:00am - 12:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jan 18 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Jan 25 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Feb 01 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Feb 08 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Feb 15 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Jan 18 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Jan 25 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Feb 01 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Feb 08 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Feb 15 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Feb 24 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Mar 02 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Mar 09 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Mar 16 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Mar 23 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Feb 25 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Mar 03 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Mar 10 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Mar 17 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Mar 24 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Feb 26 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Mar 04 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Mar 11 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Mar 18 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Mar 25 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Feb 27 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Mar 05 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Mar 12 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Mar 19 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Mar 26 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
10:00am - 12:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Feb 29 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 07 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 14 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 21 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 28 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Feb 29 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 07 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 14 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 21 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Mar 28 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Mon, Apr 06 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Apr 13 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Apr 20 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, Apr 27 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Mon, May 04 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Tue, Apr 07 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Apr 14 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Apr 21 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, Apr 28 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Tue, May 05 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Wed, Apr 08 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Apr 15 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Apr 22 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, Apr 29 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Wed, May 06 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Start Date Time Teacher # Sessions Price
6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Thu, Apr 09 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Apr 16 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Apr 23 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, Apr 30 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
Thu, May 07 6:00pm - 8:30pm TBD
10:00am - 12:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Apr 11 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Apr 18 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, Apr 25 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, May 02 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
Sat, May 09 10:00am - 12:30pm TBD
1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD 6 $250
This course consists of multiple sessions, view schedule for sessions.
Sat, Apr 11 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Apr 18 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, Apr 25 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, May 02 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD
Sat, May 09 1:00pm - 3:30pm TBD

Benefits of Booking Through CourseHorse

Booking is safe. When you book with us your details are protected by a secure connection.
Lowest price guaranteed. Classes on CourseHorse are never marked up.
This class will earn you 2500 points. Points give you money off your next class!
Questions about this class?
Get help now from a knowledge expert!
Questions & Answers (1)

Get quick answers from CourseHorse and past students.

Question from Ellen D.
If I know I will have to miss one of the classes because I'm going on a trip in October, do you think that would leave me far behind the rest of the class?
Answer from Ciarra O. CourseHorse StaffCourseHorse Staff
Hi, Ellen! It's a bit hard to say how far behind you'll be after missing a class but for you not to miss out on what was discussed that day, you can definitely make it up. Once enrolled, you can either inform the instructor right away or contact us and we'll reach out to the school.
Answer
Cancel

Reviews of Classes at Sign Language Center (18)

(18 Reviews)
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Anonymous on 10/26/2019
Jamila was our instructor and he was fabulous. Taught with humor and we covered an incredible amount of information.
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Anonymous on 10/21/2019
I learned WAY more than I was expecting to in this level 1 6 week course. I also learned ASL history and deaf culture and now have a greater appreciation and understanding of both. There are so many great things about Sign Language Center that I loved and are the reasons I'll be signing up for level 2 (I was only planning on doing 1 level only, but I now want to continue and learn more!) Due to my busy schedule, I was unable to commit to the same day and time every week and SLC is very flexible and I was able to make up the class at a different day and time. I've had 3 different instructors and they were all GREAT. Everyone is very patient and understanding and committed to making sure you learn, and learn ASL correctly! Alan (who I believe runs SLC) is very helpful and always quick to respond via email or text. If you're interested in learning ASL I highly recommend this place. All of my classes were also really funny. The instructors have a great sense of humor which made learning fun and easy. Thank you guys and I look forward to level 2!!!
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Anonymous on 10/17/2019
Great, great, great! Learned so much, met nice people, teacher (Jamil) was amazing! I can’t wait to continue to the next level!
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Jacob R. on 10/15/2019
Truly mindblowing class. As a hearing person, it was fascinating learning not just ASL, but also about deaf culture and history.
Level 1 ASL
Reviewed by Jillian E. on 3/27/2018
I loved this course! The Sign Language Center and my teacher were great. I signed up for three more semesters!
loading...
loading...
Similar Classes

School: Sign Language Center

Sign Language Center

We are proud to introduce to you a company with a number of incredible instructors teaching American Sign Language. Our goal is to provide YOU the student, an enriching experience learning the beauty of ASL and Deaf culture; we welcome all levels from beginners to advanced students. We also offer one...

Read more about Sign Language Center

CourseHorse Approved

This school has been carefully vetted by CourseHorse and is a verified NYC educator.

Ready to take this class?
BOOK NOW
Booking this class for a group? Find great private group events here